Master thesis regarding the subject urbanization and water mangagement including residency in India for 2014

In the year 2014, four master theses within this context are to be assigned, dealing with different subjects in India. The offer contains of four scholarships including a two months residency in the Indian cities Hyderabad and Varanasi. During this time period the field work as well as the data collection needs to be finished. The scholarships consists of 800 € per month in India for health insurance and flight costs (575€).

The project “Interaction Urbanization and Water management” is a part of the DAAD-Program “A New passage to India”. Within this project the department of engineering geology and hydrogeology studies the interaction between high-speed urbanization and water resources. One focus of the project regards different urban players in India (e.g. Squatter, participants of the informal sector, urban middle- and high-class) and their different interactions with water resources resulting from diverse needs and actions of the urban citizens.

 

In south Asia the urban population increased five times while the whole population in that region doubled. In no other country worldwide are as many megacities as in India. In the year 2000, 3 of the 10 largest cities can be found in India. In 2015 the cities Mumbai, Delhi, Kalkutta and Bangalore will be 4 of the 30 biggest Megacities. Furthermore there will be 9 cities with more than 5 million residents on the Indian subcontinent and therefore in the category of megacities. In most of these cities, the construction of infrastructure for general supply and waste management cannot keep up with high growth rates. As a result there will be shortages in water supply and effluent disposal. The biggest challenges connected with urbanization and industrial growth in India are growing differences between the rich and the poor, growing impoverishment and slumification of the cities, lacking of supply infrastructure, disorganized settlements and bad land use as well as many environmental issues.

 

The thesis has to be written in English.

Contact: Dr. Klaus Baier (room 108)

Lehrstuhl für Ingenieurgeologie und Hydrogeologie der RWTH-Aachen

Univ-Prof. Dr. Rafig Azzam

Lochnerstr. 4-20
D-52064 Aachen

Telefon: +49 - (0)241/80-95741
Telefax: +49 - (0)241/80-92280

Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Hydrogeologie

Univ-Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde

Lochnerstr. 4-20
D-52064 Aachen

Telefon: +49 - (0)241/80-95741
Telefax: +49 - (0)241/80-92280

©2017 Lehrstuhl für Ingenieurgeologie und Hydrogeologie
Impressum

Masterarbeiten zum Thema Urbanisierung und Wassermanagement mit Aufenthalt in Indien für 2014

Im Rahmen dieses Kontexts sind für das Jahr 2014 mindestens 4 Masterarbeiten zu verschiedenen Themen in Indien zu vergeben. Dazu stehen 4 Stipendien für jeweils 2 Monate zur Feldarbeit und Datenerhebung in den indischen Städten Hyderabad und Varanasi zur Verfügung. Die Stipendien setzen sich aus 800 € pro Monat in Indien, Krankenversicherung und Flugkosten (575 €) zusammen.

Im Rahmen des im DAAD-Programm „A New passage to India“ finanziererten Austauschprojekts „Interaktion Urbanisierung und Wassermanagement“ untersucht der Lehrstuhl für Ingenieurgeologie und Hydrogeologie die Wechselwirkungen zwischen high-speed Urbanisierung und Wasserressourcen. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt dieses Projekts in Indien ist die Berücksichtigung verschiedener urbaner Akteure (z.B. Squatter, sonstige Akteure des informellen Sektors, urbane Mittel- und Oberschicht) und ihren vielfälitigen durch Bedürfnisse und Handlungen hervorgerufenen Wechselwirkungen mit den Wasserressourcen.

In Südasien hat sich die Stadtbevölkerung bei einer Verdopplung der gesamten Bevölkerung verfünffacht. In keinem anderen Land der Welt sind so viele der größten Megacities zu finden wie in Indien. Im Jahre 2000 waren 3 der 10 größten Städte der Welt dort zu finden. Im Jahre 2015 werden mit Mumbai, Delhi, Kalkutta und Bangalore 4 der 30 größten Megacities in Indien sein. Zusätzlich werden 2015 auf dem indischen Subkontinent 9 Städte mehr als 5 Millionen Einwohner zählen und damit zu der Kategorie der Megacities gehören. In den meisten Fällen kann der Aufbau der Ver- und Entsorgungsinfrastruktur nicht mit den hohen Wachstumsraten mithalten und es entstehen Versorgunsglücken in der Wasserversorgung und Abwasserentsorgung. Einige der großen Herausforderungen im Rahmen von Urbanisierung und Wirtschaftswachstum in Indien sind der immer größere werdende Unterschied zwischen Armen und Reichen Bevölkerungsschichten, die zunehmende Verelendung und Verslumung der Innenstädte, die mangelnde Versorgungsinfrastruktur, die planlosen Siedlungen und die planlose Landnutzung sowie vielfäl tige Umweltprobleme.

Die Arbeit ist in Englisch zu verfassen.

Ansprechpartner:
Dr. Klaus Baier (Raum 108)

Lehrstuhl für Ingenieurgeologie und Hydrogeologie der RWTH-Aachen

Univ-Prof. Dr. Rafig Azzam

Lochnerstr. 4-20
D-52064 Aachen

Telefon: +49 - (0)241/80-95741
Telefax: +49 - (0)241/80-92280

Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Hydrogeologie

Univ-Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde

Lochnerstr. 4-20
D-52064 Aachen

Telefon: +49 - (0)241/80-95741
Telefax: +49 - (0)241/80-92280

©2017 Lehrstuhl für Ingenieurgeologie und Hydrogeologie
Impressum